Need Rest?????

Need Rest?????

Last week I was feeling really overwhelmed, burnt out, spent, whatever you want to call it. I was trying to figure out what was causing me to feel this way. I felt a longing in my spirit for rest.

In this hectic world, rest is a hard thing to find, but what I was longing for was not as much physical rest but mental rest.

A few days before I felt this mental exhaustion envelop me, I had a dream, that I was home with Gino and we were having some sort of party/get together as we often entertain. I dreamt that I had to leave, it is not clear why, but I was driving up a mountain side along a cliff. The cliff was so high that if you would fall off it was falling into oblivion. I was driving safely, but somehow I drove to close to the edge and went over the cliff. I was struggling to veer the car over to the road, although I was in mid air (which would make it impossible to get back to the road logically) I then resided myself to the fact that I was done, this was it, I am going to die. The Next thing I remember in the dream is that I am back on the road in my car, confused, dizzy and with a large lump on the right side of my head. I could not figure out how I got back on the road, how could someone save me, a car in mid air?? But, then I realized it was miraculous even though I had not seen anyone (i.e.. Angels, God etc.) There were people that ran to my aide and I just couldn’t wait to get back to the house to share that something miraculous had happened. I got back to the house and although everyone was concerned and was glad I was okay, they were more interested in the party going on than the fact that something miraculous had happened, I kept saying something got me back on the road; and they just didn’t care.

I was talking to a couple friends about the dream, and one of them said how we forget to depend on God and get carried away with trying to figure things out for ourselves. But, God is there silently even though we cannot see him, he’s there, saving us. Putting us back on the road, in hopes that we will recognize his presence in our lives and how much he loves us even when we are not even noticing he is there. He’s not boastful about it, he doesn’t need to be seen or heard, he just IS. And that sometimes it is okay to let go and let God, and that it is okay to let other people help you, listen to you, be there for you. It’s allowing them to experience the blessing of helping some one.

The party people, that were just glad I was okay, but wanted to continue with their party, and miraculous didn’t even make them the slightest bit intrigued to know more- I believe that’s the world. We are not moved by much anymore, and are mostly just interested in what is happening only if it directly affects us. The miraculous that happens in this world everyday yes everyday, is God tapping on our shoulder to let us know he is here and waiting for us to snap out of our deep sleep, and acknowledge him as our Lord and Savior. Yet, we see it, we see miracles happening to people and we just keep moving on.

I believe that God was preparing me with that dream, he was tapping me on the shoulder and reminding me that I am human and that I need mental rest, that I needed to enter into his rest, which he promises his faithful – Hebrews 4:3 For we who have believed enter that rest, as he has said, “As I swore in my wrath, ‘They shall not enter my rest,’” although his works were finished from the foundation of the world.
He is the power working in me. He’s scooping me up and putting me back on the road, nothing I could have done could have gotten me back on the road, we need the super natural power of the Holy Spirit working in us to keep us working towards the goal which is his will. The created can do nothing without the creator.

I needed that reminder. For a few days now, I stayed away from media and turned off my cell phone. It was liberating and mentally restful.
Do not forget to praise God in all things, for he is doing it all for the good of his people.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

9 thoughts on “Need Rest?????

  1. Sometimes we have to much on one plate to handle, This was Gods way of telling you you need to slow down and look around you, we all have fake friends and there isn’t anything wrong with that as long as we do our job’s he has for us. Sometimes we think we can move mountains but we can’t but we all know Jesus can.

  2. You literally let jesus take the wheel :) We all need rest, don’t feel guilty for taking at time out from life to get yours. Youre a much better person in the end because of it…..now do it more often!

  3. I love that verse! Everyone asks about Gods will! I want to do Gods will in my life! What is Gods will for my life? It is right there in the word! To give thanks! How about taking the focus off self and putting it on God where it belongs! Offering praise regardless of ones needs, that is the will of God for EVERYONES life!

    • Amen! I heard this not long ago, someone said to be a true leader you are a consummate servant! Serve others and praise God in EVERYTHING! Thank you for reading, I really appreciate it!!!

  4. Very inspiring words! We all need to be reminded to take time away from our gadgets and gizmos and enjoy what God gave us!

Leave a Reply

