” Angels Among Us” Clarence’s story

Working on Christmas Eve is never a delight, but nonetheless I had a job to do just for 1/2 a day and there was lots of homemade food in the office which made it bearable. It was snowing that day in 2004, when in walked a little old man. I recognized him from walking the streets of town by himself. He had come in looking for a small loan. He was living in a high-rise. We took to him right away, we could tell he was lonely so we offered him some food and we began talking with him. With no clue of the impact he would have on all of us. After that day it had become a regular occurrence for him to stop in the office which was walking distance from the high-rise he was living in. He was always smiling and singing a tune, and always wearing a little hat.

One day he had come into see us and said he needed a ride to his Dr.’s office and that he had a sore on his head. Of course a room full of Mothers we asked him if we could see it. It was terrible looking like a crater with 6 layers was growing on the top of his head. We asked him had he gone to the Dr. before this and he said yes, and that the Dr. had told him to stop picking at it. We all thought it looked worse than and simple scab that was being picked at too much. We said absolutely we would take him. I took him that day to his Dr., the Dr. seemed very unconcerned with Clarence’s wound. I asked the nurse if he could have a referral to get a biopsy, since I was pregnant with my second child I felt that I was pretty savvy with the medical field. They said ok, and he got the referral. Myself and my co worker took him for his biopsy, and in fact it was Cancer. Now this man is all alone and somehow had been brought into our lives. Only in retrospect do I see how divine it really was. We took turns taking Clarence to and from his Radiation appts, buying him food, ensure, spent Easter with him, and some of the girls had even gone to his little apartment and cleaned it for him. For whatever reason he took to me and he would call me at night just to talk. I was just about to give birth to my daughter Gabrielle Laura when Clarence took a turn for the worst. He had a stroke and was hospitalized. His body was weak and the stroke had taken it’s toll. All of us went to see him in the hospital and he was so glad we were there. I had my daughter Gabrielle on July 25, 2005, I took her to see him in the hospital, and soon after our Clarence passed away. We were devastated and were sad that we were not given an opportunity to try to give him a proper burial, but in all reality in this world’s standards, who were we to him? But, let me tell you he was someone to us, we sat in the office and cried our eyes out together. But, what we did know was the last 9 months of Clarence’s life were probably the best. He wasn’t alone in those tough moments of sickness, He had experienced people caring about him. He was never married and had no children. I believe in my heart of hearts that Clarence was an Angel and although we felt we were helping him, he was actually helping us.

Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it. Hebrews 13:2

Leave a Reply

