The Holy Spirit begins to whisper to my Heart

The whole situation with my friend Joanne really changed me. At that point that I knelt down and said the prayer to God to  use me, I felt a change in my spirit. I wasn’t quite sure what it was at the time but, I felt very empowered, strong, and bold. I was sitting at GiGi’s one afternoon, and it wasn’t busy and all at once I got this feeling come over me, I should start a Women’s group. I can send out a mass facebook message to my friends and family that were female and set a place to get together so that we could talk. Talk about where we were at in our lives, how we felt spiritually and how we could rise up women to outpour our nurturing maternal instincts to our communities through volunteering, community service projects etc. But, most of all to know that we can do nothing without the God, that we could be empowered by him to do good things. Yes, this all came to me at once..lol.. I was excited immediately and had butterflies in my stomach. In my usual fashion, I jumped right in. I sent a message out with all this information in my head and tried not to pre judge anyone on whether they would be interested or not. I was pretty sure of who would come and who wouldn’t but I wanted to extend the invitation to all. In all I believe I sent the invite to like 60 women. Once, I sent it, I immediately got the butterflies again and thought what did I just do? Some of these women are going to think I am nuts but, at this point there was no turning back. I waited anxiously for responses. As the day wore on a few trickled in and from the people I least expected, and the ones I thought would respond didn’t. I took it in stride and still felt really excited about it. Because, ultimately did it really matter what everyone thought? Or was I doing this because I felt the passion to do it?

 After a few hours I thought to myself where am I going to have this meeting at? I didn’t want to have it at home, I knew that I would be distracted. Then 2 women that shopped at GiGi’s popped into my head. They had come in a month or so ago and were telling me they lived in a neighboring town and owned an old church. In that church they were feeding people, letting people sleep there that were homeless, clothing them, counseling young mothers. I remember being very impressed with what they were doing. So, because I am bold, I looked up one of the ladies names that I could remember in the phone book and called her. I asked her if she remembered me and she did. I went on to tell her of my bright idea and wanted to know if I could hold my meetings there. I explained to her that the spirit of what I wanted to convey was exactly what they were already doing, and that it would be a perfect spot. I also asked her if she and her sister in law (The other woman) would be interested in being a part of it. She obliged and now I had a place to have the meetings! I was thrilled. About 2 weeks later we had our first meeting. As, I was getting ready to leave the store to head over I was gathering my notes I had written to speak about. I was almost at the door to leave and I thought I should give them something. So, I went to the back room and I had a box of prayer coins that had sayings on them. For example, God Loves you, Serenity Prayer etc. I stuffed them in my purse and rushed out the door. I was a nervous wreck. It went surprisingly well and all the women in attendance about 8, seemed genuinely interested in what I had to say. I didn’t talk to much about Faith until the end, then I said before we go I would just like to say that God gives us the power to do all things, and that this statement shouldn’t be intimidating because it doesn’t mean we have to perfect it just means that we trust him. After that ending I handed each person a prayer coin all were different and I didn’t look I just handed them out. I said let this just be a reminder of how he is the basis of all we do.

I was very happy with how it went and was excited to get feedback from the women individually to see what they thought. The next morning I checked my email on Facebook and I had a message from one of the attendees, she said that she really enjoyed the meeting and that it was just what she needed. She went on to say that she had been wrestling with making a decision for 6 months a decision she was afraid to make  and she said she felt inspired but what I had talked about. But, she said when you gave me that coin it was a sign, an answer to my prayers, the coin had the message on it that read  “Do not be afraid” . I immediately got  a stirring in my spirit, that God had given me this idea and that through this group woman would be touched. At this point I did not know exactly how God worked, I had never read the Bible, nor did I attend any Bible studies etc. I was a taken a back, but this led me to be more aware of when God was prompting me to do something, when he was leading me in to obedience

Romans 8:16 The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God

5 thoughts on “The Holy Spirit begins to whisper to my Heart

Leave a Reply

