The Downside of Imperfection… And Then Up Again

The Downside of Imperfection... And Then Up Again

Let me tell you a little about a person you may know. She is anxious, tends to be lazy, procrastinates (a lot) , she is unorganized and if you look in the dictionary you will see her picture next to the definition. Google unorganized her picture will come up on top search results. She has no self control when it comes to sweets of any sort, and might be a border line hoarder when it comes to clothes, shoes, cheap jewelry etc.

Yup, you guessed it, that woman is none other than yours truly. I hide a lot of my imperfections pretty well, but let me tell you the un organization is definitely something I cannot hide, it spills over into every aspect of my life; from laundry, Dr. appointments, dishes, being anywhere on time and anything else you might be able to think of. It pretty much stinks, I know all of this about myself, yet I have a hard time changing it.

God of course knew what kind of lunkhead I would be, so he paired me up with this amazing man, who was his mommy’s baby. His brother and sister were out of the house and his father had died when he was 10. His mom had cancer, and he was her helper. He cooked, cleaned, washed curtains, did his own laundry, remodeled, and painted. Gino’s mom would tell him all the time what a wonderful husband he was going to be, and was she ever right. It’s funny how opposites attract and how God provides us everything we need, sometimes not exactly the way we think, but we all know that The Big guy knows best.

I cherish family and I cherish a good Daddy, just like the one I always wished I’d had. He is all those things, and he genuinely (even though he complains) Likes to take care of me and take care of our children. He loves them so much that when I see them having a moment with him, even an ordinary moment, I still get butterflies in my belly.

Sometimes, I think he got the short end of the stick, but I know I bring something special to his life too, maybe someone to care for and love, that’s always when he’s at his best.

Upon looking at my life and analyzing as I always do, I have come to realize that God has used this completely flawed person (me). For wonderful things in regards to helping others, and striving to bring the masses to the feet of the Lord, but then there is the silent heroes in the background who don’t receive the glory. But, truth be told if I did not have this wonderful man in my life who fills in for every imperfection I have I would not be able to be all the Lord is calling me to be.

The only opportunity that God has to show us his strength is when we are weak- 2 Corinthians 13:9
For we rejoice when we ourselves are weak but you are strong; this we also pray for, that you be made complete.

The story of Moses and Aaron comes to mind. Moses did not want to lead, he was not well spoken and thought for sure God should call on someone more astute for the job.

Exodus 6:28-30– 28 Now when the Lord spoke to Moses in Egypt, 29 he said to him, “I am the Lord. Tell Pharaoh king of Egypt everything I tell you.”

30 But Moses said to the Lord, “Since I speak with faltering lips, why would Pharaoh listen to me?”

7 Then the Lord said to Moses, “See, I have made you like God to Pharaoh, and your brother Aaron will be your prophet. 2 You are to say everything I command you, and your brother Aaron is to tell Pharaoh to let the Israelites go out of his country. 3 But I will harden Pharaoh’s heart, and though I multiply my signs and wonders in Egypt, 4 he will not listen to you. Then I will lay my hand on Egypt and with mighty acts of judgment I will bring out my divisions, my people the Israelites. 5 And the Egyptians will know that I am the Lord when I stretch out my hand against Egypt and bring the Israelites out of it.”
God uses imperfect people and equips them with all they need to do his will.

The Apostle Paul, who started as one of Christianity’s most zealous enemies, was hand-picked by Jesus Christ to become the gospel’s most ardent messenger. Paul traveled tirelessly through the ancient world, taking the message of salvation to the Gentiles. Paul towers as one of the all-time giants of Christianity.

In our imperfection we are actually perfect, because the Lord made us to be exactly who and what we are including every nasty flaw, does that mean we continue in our imperfections? Of course not, but we rely on God to perfect the imperfect. That’s the difference between who is living in the grace of God and someone who isn’t.

My prayer today is that everyone reading this embrace your imperfection and hardships and depend on the Lord by Faith to make you perfect and that your life be fully used for his will, and the purpose of you being brought to this world.

If you haven’t already done so, I ask you, Is today the day? That you ask that Jesus be the Lord of your life? Imperfections and all? By his grace and gift of salvation he will not only radically transform you from the inside out to do his will in the here and now, but through Faith you will have eternal life in the living, and loving presence of our Dear Lord.

I pray TODAY is the day for you!

7 thoughts on “The Downside of Imperfection… And Then Up Again

  1. Hey girl! I am a secret stalker of your blog, LOL! But I had to comment on this one b/c at first I thought you were describing me. Well, except for the sweets..change that to chips 🙂 I might be more unorganized than you and I don’t do half the stuff you do. I used to pray a lot asking God why I had so many imperfections…or at least in my mind’s eye I did. So I asked him if he could fix them. Then I learned, or at least after to talking to someone, that maybe I was asking the wrong thing? Why would he have made me this way if I was imperfect in his eyes? So I prayed for the understanding of these imperfections instead of asking him to fix them. He has taught me to embrace them. Some people see chaos, I see creativity…some people see me as being late all the time…I see it as being diligent enough to do just squeeze in more thing before I leave…some people see it as sloppy handwriting..I see it as my mind working faster than my hands. So in that sense God has fixed my imperfections by making them every single part of what makes me, me.

    • That is AWESOME Ellen!! I am so glad that you could relate. I fight these things about myself all the time…But, yes he did make us like we are and we are perfect in his eyes…I love that your a secret stalker, although you have been outed…lol…. Hope to see or talk to you soon <3<3 muahhhh

  2. So much wisdom here! David wrote regarding God: ‘What is man, that though art mindful of him? Ps8:4’ When one meditates on God & what He has done in our lives, one cannot contain himself to exult God & thank Him for His loving kindness & mercy. It is all about being ‘in Christ’ as God has chosen us in Christ, before the foundation of the world, to be holy & blameless Ep1:4, before even we were born!

    God bless you & yours even more & forever!
    ~Drgold

  3. Thank you so much for those kind words. I am in such aww of his love for us! I can’t even imagine what it will be like to be in his presence!! ❤ Bless you as well!!!!

  4. I think youre describing many mothers of multiple children who hold full time jobs and a busy schedule. But by the grace of God we manage don’t we? Thank God for knowing which opposites attract and how to pair us up ❤

Leave a Reply

