Discerning Thoughts

Discerning Thoughts

This morning while I was in prayer, Jeremiah popped into my head, and I responded to my thought with what verse? 15:11 immediately popped in. Although I read the bible in some fashion everyday by no means am I a scholar or have scripture memorized (I’m a work in process). So, I didn’t even know if there was a Jeremiah 15:11. When I got to the store I immediately looked up the verse and this is what I found—–
11 Then the Lord replied,
ā€œI promise to protect you,
and when disaster comes,
even your enemies
will beg you for help.ā€
I know what the verse is saying, but I am not quiet sure how the Lord is applying it or going to apply it to my life.

When I first started to realize that my thoughts were not always my own, I was just in awe. I was thinking is he speaking to me? Sometimes it may only be a word. The way that I have learned how to differentiate my thoughts from his, is usually what he puts there. They are mostly either words I have never heard of, a scripture verse I am not familiar with, a song that I haven’t heard in ages but can’t stop hearing playing in my mind over and over again a number that I continue to see over and over. I am sure that everyone is different, but YES he does communicate with us. Everyone is different and he knows which ways are best for each individual, so the way he communicated with me might be different then how he communicates with some one else.

First though I always try to discern what the word, scripture, message is. Because in the same way that God can communicate with you, so can Satan. The mind is truly a battlefield. So, I refer to the scriptures on discernment– 1 Corinthians 12:10
to another performance of miracles, to another prophecy, and to another discernment of spirits, to another different kinds of tongues, and to another the interpretation of tongues.
1 Corinthians 12:9-11

Discernment is a gift from God, a gift of understanding and of wisdom to tell apart the spirit of the one who operates in sin and the one who operates in grace. Here are a couple of more examples of discernment—God gave Solomon wisdom and very great discernment; the breadth of his understanding was as infinite as the sand on the seashore.
1 Kings 4:28-30

Teach me proper discernment and understanding! For I consider your commands to be reliable.
Psalm 119:65-67

Carrying out a wicked scheme is enjoyable to a fool, and so is wisdom for the one who has discernment.
Proverbs 10:22-24

2 Corinthians 11:14 And no wonder, for Satan himself masquerades as an angel of light.

Even when the message seems to be a good one, it is not always God’s will, since Satan himself often comes as a Angel of light.

Since I have been discerning what God communicates to me, I have had great insight to things that the Flesh and blood could have never come up with. Sometimes, I won’t know until months later what a single word that was given me was intended for. But, I always discern each thing with scripture. If what is being communicated to you does not line up with what the Bible teaches us, then discard it. Pray for wisdom and for God to speak to you and most importantly no matter how uncomfortable it might be, be obedient. That means action is required in some instances and if you disregard what is being conveyed to you, chances will be lost to do the will of God.

My Prayer today is that each person reading this sincerely ask God for discernment, and to be used as a vessel for his Glory. In these uncertain times where souls are being lost everyday to the schemes of one who does not love us, but has come to destroy.

13 thoughts on “Discerning Thoughts

  1. Hi Marty, the spirit of discernment is so important for every Christian to benefit from. If we have received the Holy Spirit and have the mind of Christ, we can trust that we will be led by the Spirit of truth (John 16:13) and not the spirit of error or spirit of the world (1 Cor 2:12). I love how God can bring a word, a scripture, a song to our mind as you said (John 14:26) and other ways that He ‘speaks’ to us. We will not stray from God or be misled if we know His Word and test everything out (2 Cor 13:1).

  2. Hi Marty;

    Thank you for providing such a warm comment on my blog. You deserve no less yourself! I really enjoyed this article. Discernment is indeed critical, but like you said, it is a gift from God. I will certainly endeavor to pay more attention to what I am hearing, because I truly believe that God speaks to us. But I am truly appreciative of you mentioning that the devil, too, will speak to us. But that discernment will keep us safe.

    God bless!
    Serge

    • Oh Serge your post that I commented on was something that was really eating out me, I needed a confirmation of what I felt was right, and it really brought me a sense of peace! Yes, we have to remember that their is a war, a war we can’t see battling for our souls and especially in these days discernment is vital!!! Serge, God Bless you and hope to talk again!!

  3. Amen! Great post! If it doesnt line up with the bible, it isnt God!!! The only way the enemy can defeat us by getting us off track with wrong thoughts! EVERYTHING should be filter through the word of God!!!!

    • Thanks for the positive feedback (allthewaydoc), That is something I have learned to do, and want to share everything I can!! God’s word is where it’s at!!! ā¤

  4. Your words always seem to work right into my day! I have been asking God every day for the last few weeks to give me wisdom! Great job Marty

    • Luke 11:9 “And so I tell you, keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you.
      Stacey, you are on the right track, we are always a work in progress (like myself) But keep seeking and he will give it to you ā¤ So glad you are getting something from this šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

