Trickery— Part 1

Trickery Part 1

Where does your basis of thinking come from? Is it the moral code? Is it from what you’ve heard? What you’ve read? School? History? From your parents? And if your parents, what did they base their thoughts on? Their parents? I think it is worth taking time to think about.

I think that a lot of the world at large rely on here say. Including myself for a good portion of my life I relied on what my Mom taught me, what she thought was right or wrong, or what I had heard through media sources, popular culture etc… That is how I formed my opinions.

A couple of years ago I realized that there is one true way to realizing the standards that we should be living by going by and that is the Bible–the God inspired book. I do believe that a lot of what I had considered good and bad was loosely related to bible teachings, sound moral code. Even though I had never really taken the time to think about the exact origin, I mean in my mind I was a good person, I was nice, and most of the time tried to do the right thing.

It was then revealed to me through study, that there were things I was definitely NOT doing right. And I was doing them out of pure ignorance. Not because I was stupid, just because I had never taken the time to really look into it. I believe that most people are like that, they are not deliberately doing anything that would directly contradict what the Bible teaches.

In mainstream society in 2013 there is a barrage of sinful things that we are exposed to on a daily basis. Also, that we sometimes partake in. It has come to my attention lately that ( or God has laid it on my heart) Occultism, Spiritualism, Mysticism has become mainstream. You might be shocked at this statement, but let me tell you, you are ingesting it in large amounts and so are your children and you don’t even realize it. There is a very serious war being waged for the winning of our souls between good and evil forces.

Let me start with the enthusiasm, excitement, and acceptance of a house wife from Long Island named Theresa Caputo. I know so many people that just absolutely love her, I mean she’s just like one of us, except she is a medium of course. She talks to people about dead relatives and tells them that they are okay, and gives specific details that no one else could possibly know. Let me now quickly reference scripture–

2 Timothy 3:16 All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. ( New Living Translation)
So, we can refer to the Bible for sound guidance in our lives, considering, the creator inspired this book for us to live by, and we are the created.

So let’s take a look at what God says about mediums in the Bible–

1- Leviticus 19:31
‘Do not turn to mediums or seek out spiritists, for you will be defiled by them. I am the LORD your God.’ (NIV)

2- Deuteronomy 18:10-13
Let no one be found among you who sacrifices his son or daughter in the fire, who practices divination or sorcery, interprets omens, engages in witchcraft, or casts spells, or who is a medium or spiritist or who consults the dead. Anyone who does these things is detestable to the LORD, and because of these detestable practices the LORD your God will drive out those nations before you. You must be blameless before the LORD your God. (
NIV)

3- 1 Chronicles 10:13-14
Saul died because he was unfaithful to the LORD; he did not keep the word of the LORD and even consulted a medium for guidance, and did not inquire of the LORD. So the LORD put him to death and turned the kingdom over to David son of Jesse. (NIV)

The above are from the Old testament, let’s see what the new testament says.

1- The New Testament reveals that the Holy Spirit will be our teacher and guide. John 14:26
But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you. (NIV)

2- John 16:13
But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come. (NIV)

So, what the bible says in the Old testament scriptures is that no one should depend on anyone who speaks to the dead. Does that mean that all these mediums like Mrs. Caputo, Sylvia Brown, John Edwards are willfully working against the teachings of God? I have heard that Theresa speaks that her gifts are from God, and I do think she really believes that, and that she wants to help people, but if she would have looked into this gift she has and used the Bible as her reproof she would have seen these things written and would have then been able to make a choice on what she wanted to do with this ability she has. After, she read of what God thought about it.

The truth of the matter is the adversary plays us like a fiddle. He knows what to use to get to us. Who doesn’t want to know if some one they have lost is okay to put their mind at ease. Satan is not going to put some one out there dressed in a witch costume, he is going to make it all very inviting, like Eve and the apple. I can put myself there, what could be so wrong with eating this apple, it looks so pretty, and delicious. The consequences of that bite are still being felt today. Think about that, what are the consequences going to be in the long run for depending on something other than the Lord, when he explicitly tells us not to. If the sin has already been committed, I can only suggest sincere repentance, and walking forward with God’s guide the Bible.

Sweet to the lips, but poison when you ingest it.

31 thoughts on “Trickery— Part 1

  1. I never thought of it that way, but then again I never got into the bible to find these things out. i don’t want to question but I just bought a book of Sylvia Browne’s, Book of Angels there are scriptures in it from Luke, #2 Peter, Psalm, I guess I shouldn’t read it. If it’s about angels isn’t that what we are to believe in ?

    • Jean, What Satan does is use a portion of truth (ie. Angels & scripture) and mixes it with lies. Even if she is quoting the bible, if she is contacting the dead then turn away. Scripture says that Satan will come looking like an angel of light. Just like I spoke about in “Got Fruit” If some one is claiming to be of God but then is doing things that directly contradict his word. They are not of GOD. He says you will know them by there fruit, which is righteousness.

      Paul and the False Apostles
      …13For such are false apostles, deceitful workers, transforming themselves into the apostles of Christ. 14And no marvel; for Satan himself is transformed into an angel of light. 15Therefore it is no great thing if his ministers also be transformed as the ministers of righteousness; whose end shall be according to their works. I hope this scripture helps!

  2. With all the Harry Potter and Twilight stuff and the popular kids shows about witches and the books out there about wizardry and witches and the occult, all are the devils playground! We as christians have so let our guards down and now rationalize the reading and watching of all things evil and mystic etc. Fortune telling and medians are not gifts from God, they are demonic spirits that are controlling a person! In the bible the fortune tellers and/or medians had demons cast out of them, how is it that todays christians think it is ok? We are a lost and perishing world! The church needs to quit being politically correct and start getting prepared to meet the groom who is coming for a spotless bride!

      • I think the reason people [christians] think these things are ok is that they are not spending time in the WORD [=TRUTH] so they are unable to discern what is truly right and what is wrong. Paul says in Phillipians 1:9 “And this I pray, that your love may abound still more and more in real knowledge and all discerenment , so that you may approve [or, distinguish between the things which differ] the things that are excellent, in order to be sincere and blameless until the day of Christ;…”
        also we as a true convert/follower of Christ are to reject false teaching such as pagan spirituality, contemplative prayer, “christian” yoga, pluralism-universalism, prosperity gospel etc. Stay in the Word, Know the Word, Memorize the Word those things are the most important! Just mho…:)

      • Very good and so true! You’re right, most Christians are not reading their Bible enough, to be able to discern. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and I look forward to continued fellowship 😉

  3. I have been paying attention to this in movies and books lately, its absolutely everywhere! But we don’t we really see it most of the time because its blended in so nicely and sometimes so subtle that it just looks “fun”. I need to be more aware!

    • Yes, it is everywhere. It is considered cool to be a zombie, vampire, wizard..etc…It started small, just like you said, blended….. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and adding to a topic that must be discussed among Christians!! Blessings to you!!!

  4. Thank you for your wise counsel.

    A few years ago we were in Old Sacramento. One of the shops had a display of angel objects for purchase. Among them was a game with a beautiful angel on its cover. The game was called “Angel Speak;” its subtitle, “Let your angel speak to you.” Upon closer examination we discovered that it was an Ouija board.

    We have to remember that satan can present himself as an angel of light.

    This is no time to be asleep at the wheel. We have an adversary who wants to rob, kill and destroy us. He doesn’t ever take a vacation, and he doesn’t lighten up on the weak or infirm. Those are his favorite targets. We must be wise as serpents, gentle as doves!

    \o/

  5. By the way, I think this blog was spot on. As usual u tackle a subject with passion, not wordy, but right to the subject…you tackle life the same way. The most important element is that you let the Holy Spirit guide you. You inspire me….Luv ya! Mom~

  6. I appreciate the care with which you address this. And I take it as a wake-up call. it has been many years since I talked about this and you make me realize it is not something we should lay dormant in our repertoire. As someone who is not into modern entertainment (no TV, etc) I had fallen into ignorance. Thank you.
    Peace

    • thank you so much!!!! Yes, the body of Christ needs to come together. Bit, it’s important to note that we all are called to be a different part of the body. Your part is so important!! God bless you!!!

    • I know, b/c I do believe that she has good intentions.

      21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. 22 Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

  7. I know what the Bible says about mediums, but I still enjoy watching Teresa Caputo? Does this make me a bad person, am I sinning by doing this??

    • It definitely does not make you a bad person, and not necessarily sinning. Let me ask you this- Do you believe in what she says? If you don’t, why open yourself up to something ungodly just for entertainment. If you do, God says that the info mediums give is directly from Satan, do you feel comfortable with that? And if you do, that’s something to think about. And what happens when you are tested with something more serious, God is to come first even before our own families, so if you can’t give up something like this, what will you do when the hard decisions come.

Leave a Reply

