Spiritual Gifts- Communicating with the Heavenlies

Spiritual Gifts- Communicating with the Heavenlies

I have thought long and hard about this subject and how exactly I would approach it. For the average Christian person, I don’t think that spiritual gifts are something we are familiar with, I know that I wasn’t.

Yes, I had watched Unsolved Mysteries years ago about miracles and mysteries, but that was as far as it went for me. I had no idea of the origins, validity, etc.

As I craved and still crave to know more about God, and all of his glories and mysteries, I came upon the scriptures like the above pictured, where it spoke of these spiritual gifts; after I read about them I prayed and asked God if it was his will for me to have any gifts that I was open to it.

I began speaking to mature Christians; meaning that they were walking with the Lord much longer than myself and had knowledge about these things. I was very open and excited with the mere thought of receiving any gift that God might find me worthy of.

Let me preface this with saying that my group of Christian friends, I had come into relationships with were from all different denominations: Catholics, Methodists, Non denominational, Baptists and unbelievers alike. Which gave me a wide variety of answers, regarding spiritual gifts. Because of the variances in each explanation.

I decided to pray to God for the Holy Spirit to lead me based on the scriptures I had read. I was praying about it for a few months and nothing was presenting itself. I was speaking to 2 of my closest friends in the Lord and telling them how maybe it just wasn’t for me. They offered for me to come for coffee at one of their houses and to pray with me about it. The Lord says in Matthew 18:20 — For where two or three gather together as my followers, I am there among them.”

So, I said that sounded great. We scheduled it for the following week, and I was excited about it, until a few days before, I started to get nervous about it. I was thinking maybe it’s just not meant for me, I’m probably not worthy, maybe the others I had spoken to were right, and this just didn’t exist anymore, the need or power for the spiritual gifts, even though the way I had interpreted scripture the Holy Spirit was still very active concerning these graces.

The night before our early morning prayer was scheduled, I was up all night praying. I got up in the morning and was a nervous wreck! I arrived, and these 2 godly, graceful women were sipping there coffee, and not seeming to have a care or worry in the world. We spoke and I began to feel a little more relaxed, we then started to pray and to say the least, I definitely got much more than I expected. Our God is so good and so full of grace, for those who are truly seeking him with a contrite heart. I received the gift of tongues it poured from my lips as if I had spoken it my whole life. It was one of the most amazing things I have ever experienced. It’s not for show, it’s not for “Credentials”, it’s not for anything else than to edify the body of Christ and for the Holy Spirit to intercede on your behalf for blessings only your soul knows and only what the Holy Spirit (God himself) knows you need.

This was only the first gift God bestowed upon me. And I will go into that detail in the next entry Spiritual Gifts Part 2.

Each one of us holds a different place in the Body of Christ, and our gifts will not be the same. Here is a recent article that also explains spiritual gifts and some misconceptions within the Body. http://kingintraining.wordpress.com/2013/03/06/the-gift-of-tongues-is-it-for-everyone/

I pray that this blesses, educates, inspires, each person who reads.

Here is 1 Corinthians 12:4-31 where spiritual gifts are explained–

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

4 Now there are varieties of gifts, but the same Spirit. 5 And there are varieties of ministries, and the same Lord. 6 There are varieties of effects, but the same God who works all things in all persons. 7 But to each one is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good. 8 For to one is given the word of wisdom through the Spirit, and to another the word of knowledge according to the same Spirit; 9 to another faith [a]by the same Spirit, and to another gifts of [b]healing [c]by the one Spirit, 10 and to another the [d]effecting of [e]miracles, and to another prophecy, and to another the [f]distinguishing of spirits, to another various kinds of tongues, and to another the interpretation of tongues. 11 But one and the same Spirit works all these things, distributing to each one individually just as He wills.

12 For even as the body is one and yet has many members, and all the members of the body, though they are many, are one body, so also is Christ. 13 For [g]by one Spirit we were all baptized into one body, whether Jews or Greeks, whether slaves or free, and we were all made to drink of one Spirit.

14 For the body is not one member, but many. 15 If the foot says, “Because I am not a hand, I am not a part of the body,” it is not for this reason [h]any the less a part of the body. 16 And if the ear says, “Because I am not an eye, I am not a part of the body,” it is not for this reason [i]any the less a part of the body. 17 If the whole body were an eye, where would the hearing be? If the whole were hearing, where would the sense of smell be? 18 But now God has placed the members, each one of them, in the body, just as He desired. 19 If they were all one member, where would the body be? 20 But now there are many members, but one body. 21 And the eye cannot say to the hand, “I have no need of you”; or again the head to the feet, “I have no need of you.” 22 On the contrary, [j]it is much truer that the members of the body which seem to be weaker are necessary; 23 and those members of the body which we [k]deem less honorable, [l]on these we bestow more abundant honor, and our less presentable members become much more presentable, 24 whereas our more presentable members have no need of it. But God has so composed the body, giving more abundant honor to that member which lacked, 25 so that there may be no [m]division in the body, but that the members may have the same care for one another. 26 And if one member suffers, all the members suffer with it; if one member is [n]honored, all the members rejoice with it.

27 Now you are Christ’s body, and individually members of it. 28 And God has [o]appointed in the church, first apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then [p]miracles, then gifts of healings, helps, administrations, various kinds of tongues. 29 All are not apostles, are they? All are not prophets, are they? All are not teachers, are they? All are not workers of [q]miracles, are they? 30 All do not have gifts of healings, do they? All do not speak with tongues, do they? All do not interpret, do they? 31 But earnestly desire the greater gifts.

And I show you a still more excellent way.

9 thoughts on “Spiritual Gifts- Communicating with the Heavenlies

    • Amen! I can’t believe how much grace he has given me, I feel very unworthy. I pray that others can experience this grace, they will never be the same 😉

  1. I guess all I can say is Thank you God for putting all my body parts in the right places and Knowing I needed you in my life more than you need me. ❤

  2. Pingback: The Gifts of the Spirit | warriors-In-nature

  3. Alas, you are right that spiritual gifts come under-taught and over-feared in Christianity, or else over-taught and under-feared. We should dispense with the magical sense around them. Gifts are tools of the trade for the Believer. Paul says to seek the best gifts, and we know he means the ones that alert people to Jesus or motivate the Body to serve Jesus even to death. Trouble is we honour people with the spectacular gifts (tongues, miracles) and ignore those with important gifts (like helping). And we still murder the prophets, those who call people to radical obedience to Jesus and reveal the human-centred parts of religion.
    So your more practical and low-key approach is welcome in this vital issue that is too often turned into a quagmire by the self-righteous. Sorry, it seems harsh, but I have seen it way too much. Be blessed by God’s gifts to you – jealousy-free, please!
    Peace

Leave a Reply

