Precious Space

Precious Space

Our minds contain the most priceless real estate. If you have never thought of it that way, it’s a good angle to look at it from. Besides, the normal everyday activities that we HAVE to do, work, eat, take care of our children. Everything else we do, read, listen, even conversations that we partake in take up room in our minds. I have contemplated it several times over the last couple of years, but I didn’t understand to the level, I am understanding it now, and I am sure there are many levels I haven’t ventured to yet.

I have eliminated a few things in my life, and it has made a great impact on me. For instance, the music I listen too has changed, as I started to awaken to what the world throws at us all day, I realized that the music I listened too motivated a feeling of entitlement, a feeling of selfishness, materialism, promiscuity, and more. I listened to it differently than I had in my younger years, I was hearing the words and innuendoes and although my girls may have not understood it now, it would be planting seeds of all of the things I listed above as “normal”. I was reminded of this when my younger daughter Gabby was singing a popular song on the radio ” Brushed my teeth with a bottle of Jack”. Not a good feeling when you hear your 4 year old singing that. I made a decision not to listen to any of that music anymore. That I could at least eliminate that when they are in my presence, I know I can’t shield them from the world, but these small decisions can give me the opportunity to plant different seeds. We know listen to Contemporary Christian music and we all love it! Also, on our drive to school in the morning we have switched to no music and instead we pray for the new day ahead.

Well, that was a great decision, but in the months to come I realized there were other things that not only I was exposed to but again the girls. They loved the show Toddler’s and Tiara’s, and also Dance Moms. After 2 episodes in a row where a mother was invoking spirits of dead prostitutes to enter into her 3 year old daughter to win the pageant, and also mother’s fighting down and dirty for a spot for their girls, I decided we would not watch that anymore either. Other shows have filled there spots that are appropriate for them and for myself.

I more recently have decided to limit the negativity in my personal life as well, I have limited my time on social media outlets that would drain me of my happiness. I have realized that simplifying things can really free up the precious space in my mind. I feel lighter.

So, the point of this blog is, what are you letting take up precious space? Will it make you happy? Will it bring you down? We are in control to a point to what seeds are planted in us. When I am reading scripture everyday in some way, when I am listening to Christian music, when I am watching inspiring stories on television, it leaves me feeling happy, full of hope.

Be Careful What You Feed Your Mind, because it will influence our lives, our actions, and our destiny.

Proverbs 15:14 NIV 14 The discerning heart seeks knowledge,
but the mouth of a fool feeds on folly.

Psalms 119:37 NIV 37 Turn my eyes away from worthless things;
preserve my life according to your word.

Psalms 101:3 NIV I will not look with approval on anything that is vile. I hate what faithless people do; I will have no part in it.

Psalms 1 NIV
1Blessed is the one

who does not walk in step with the wicked

or stand in the way that sinners take

or sit in the company of mockers,

2but whose delight is in the law of the Lord,

and who meditates on his law day and night.

3That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,

which yields its fruit in season

and whose leaf does not witherβ€”

whatever they do prospers.

4Not so the wicked!

They are like chaff

that the wind blows away.

5Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment,

nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous.

6For the Lord watches over the way of the righteous,

but the way of the wicked leads to destruction.

Ephesians 4:27 NIV and do not give the devil a foothold.

Be Blessed and protect YOUR precious space~

If you like this, here is another story:http://upliftingchrist.wordpress.com/2013/10/11/empty-your-recycle-bin-2/comment-page-1/#comment-1548

10 thoughts on “Precious Space

  1. I loved this blog πŸ™‚ I spiritually take up my sword and fight daily as the battlefield really is the mind..I made these same changes in my life when I really started listening to the words that were being sang and realizing the seeds they would plant..I also just long to feed my spirit so as often as I can I am listening to worship music..I enjoy contemporary Christian too..nonetheless this blog made me feel not alone and reminded me of the importance of staying strong in this battle. ❀

  2. One thing I forgot to add is I love that you turn the music off and pray with the girls in the morning….what a great way to start your day together and an awesome example for them πŸ™‚ you’re such a good mom!

    • I try…some mornings when they are driving me batty, I can feel myself not wanting to pray because I am irritated, but they will say ‘Mom, don’t forget our prayer”. Which makes me instantly feel better, they love it too!!

  3. What a great post Marty…there are many things I’m trying to ‘tune into’ in my life that may cause ungodly thoughts and attitudes. And there may be a lot more than we think, yikes.
    P.S – eew to the pageant mom! Eew! That poor child 😦

Leave a Reply

