Laundry?? Satan’s tool?? I would have never thunk it!!

Laundry?? Satan's tool?? I would have never thunk it!!

My friend gave me a book to read. Screwtape letters by C.S. Lewis. I have to admit I wasn’t completely sure what it was about when she gave it to me, but I did know C.S. Lewis is an amazing Christian writer. So all was good.

I started to read it. Starting with the preface which tells you what it’s about. Actually C.S. Lewis called it the Screwtape Letters Toast.

It explains that this book is a fictional piece, where he dauntingly went into the mindset of a Demon, who is writing letters to another demon on a lower level, to teach him the ropes so to say.

Satan has a hierarchy just like God does.( i.e. Archangel Michael, Gabriel). C.S. also signs off before the first letter by saying two things.

1. Satan IS a LIAR.
2. Do not take up too much space in your mind with him, nor become obsesses with demons, then you can open a door to them in your life, unwillingly. Good advice.

The first letter hit me like a MAC TRUCK, but the second paragraph of the second letter, through me right over the cliff.

Screwtape, the higher ranking demon is instructing wormwood the lower ranking demon on how to needle a mother and son that are living together. He says, “Build up a good bit of mutual annoyance; daily pinpricks.” Here is how- Here’s the stabbingly true demon work.

1. Keep his mind on the inner life, he thinks his conversion is something inside him and therefore his attention is chiefly turned at the present states of his own mind- or rather to that expurgated version of them, which is all you should allow him to see. Encourage this. Keep his mind off the most elementary duties by directing it to the most advanced and spiritual ones. Aggravate that most useful human characteristic, the horror and neglect of the obvious. You must bring him to a condition in which he can practice self examination for an hour without discovering any of those facts about himself, which are perfectly clear to anyone who has ever lived in the same house with him or worked in the same office.– Screwtape letters page 16.

I read this and the result was pure angst for where I am truly falling short. I am running a business with my husband, writing a blog, putting out a Walking in Faith page, for daily encouragement to others.

BUT, I am not washing the dishes regularly, Keeping up with the laundry, or matching socks.
I come home and think, I just don’t feel like it. It can wait. I’ll do it tomorrow.

I am causing strife in my marriage, by not keeping up with what I should be doing. I am causing frustration in the morning for my kids when they can’t find a pair of socks. I am causing oppression in my own home through piles of dirty laundry, and also clean baskets of laundry, never put away.

Most of all I am being rebellious, and I am teaching my children to be rebellious through my lack of concern for my own home. Satan is winning and keeping me in bondage in the simplest way possible, by encouraging me to believe that I have free will and if I don’t feel like doing it, I shouldn’t have to. And, I am believing him.

This morning I was like a cleaning crazy woman. Not that this is how I should respond to this. One day of cleaning crazy then back to the old me. I need to read that paragraph once a week and remind myself that my most important job on this earth is to raise up my children in a good way, and to also teach them to do the things that keep this type of rebellion and oppression out of their future homes and lives.

So, there it is. Satan will have destroyed me through dirty laundry. Who would have thunk it?

I know some may be reading this an thinking oh hogwash, this isn’t so bad. So, she doesn’t do laundry on a regular basis. Her kids always look good. And, that’s how he would like you to think. It’s no big deal. This is where he wins. In these small battles, which lead to big battles.

1 Peter 5:8 Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.

5 thoughts on “Laundry?? Satan’s tool?? I would have never thunk it!!

  1. Please take care of your family! I don’t know how anyone can keep up with a family, shopping for groceries, preparing meals, doing any amount of housekeeping or laundry, etc. My husband and I both blog; we have no children at home; we have little chores and responsibilities, our meals are very simple; I do minimum housekeeping and laundry. Blogging is a full time JOB; I cannot read all the blog posts that come over my reader; writing blog posts demands a lot of time, energy and often research. Anyway, family is a priority! Very honest post; trust God to give you wisdom, know-how and skills to juggle everything that must be done. God bless you!
    ~Liz

    • Thank you Liz- I am very blessed that I can write at work as I have my own business. But, this really hit home for me. God is humbling me. And I am listening. God bless u!:)

  2. The adversary and his minion are certainly very clever, and very very good at what they do. I’m always on the alert for the BIG things…and prone to miss the small ones like unwashed dishes and dirty floors. Yikes! Thanks for the humble reminder.

    \o/

  3. I read Screwtape letters years ago, and that is its great message. After all, look at how often we read in the Bible – be alert – stay awake – beware…
    God bless you as you seek divine guidance for your daily planner!
    Peace

Leave a Reply

