Sanctification

Sanctification

What exactly does that mean?? I was listening to my bible this morning on audio as I was getting ready. I was listening to Romans. As I was listening, something perked my ears.

Romans 6:11 – So you must consider yourselves dead to sin and alive to God in Christ Jesus.

As, I pondered that line, I thought what does that really mean, considering we are still in the world where sin is. How does this happen? It went on to explain and with some study this is what I came up with.

Christ died for sin ( as a whole) once and for all. Through him we receive this gift of Justification ( meaning that his death was payment for our sins ) But, the actual process of becoming more like Christ, is the sanctification.

http://www.crosswalk.com/faith/spiritual-life/justification-and-sanctification-what-do-they-mean-and-what-does-the-bible-teach-about-them-11628887.html ( reference)

So as I was reading this, it spurred me to reflect on my life, and how have I changed since asking Christ to be Lord of my life. It wasn’t something I tried to do, it just happened. Here are some examples~

1. I started listening to Contemporary Christian music. It was not immediate, but my tastes were just changing. The music that was played on the regular stations literally repulsed me as I would contemplate what they were saying. ( People would say, ” well you listened to it all your life, why didn’t those things being said bother you then?”) When I was younger, I thought it was cool, it seemed normal, I HAD been listening to it all my life. But, now something inside me was rejecting it, rejecting it’s purpose, rejecting it’s message. I was seeing for the first time through different eyes, seeing how a song about longing for your ex, even though you are now married could lead some one to feel they are still having that longing and after hearing the song over and over again, would act on it. I could see how sexually explicit songs, could lead you into sexually explicit thoughts, I could see how being half naked and talking about doing whatever you feel, cause your only young once, would after hearing it over and over make you think you have the license to do so, I mean you deserve it right?
Yes, I used to let songs sway my feelings, my moods, and I didn’t even realize it, that is until the Holy Spirit was dwelling inside of me and allowing me to see this in the way Christ would see it.

It was a process, I stopped drinking. Not that I really ever was a heavy drinker. But, it says in the word:
1 Peter 5:8 Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.
So, I didn’t want to put myself in a position where I would not be of sober mind. I still will have a glass of wine, but I don’t allow myself to drink more than a glass or two.

I stopped cursing.

It is not that this is in an effort for the world’s eyes to think “I’m Holy” it’s for God’s eyes to know that I love him, and want to be in obedience to his word ( which is the truth accompanied with the Holy Spirit that does the sanctifying.)

My mouth. This has been a hard one. I believe this still needs some refining. But, I have been more thoughtful when speaking. Is it kind? Is it necessary?
Proverbs 8:21 The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.
When I came to the realization that what comes out of my mouth could be a spiritual manifestation of life or death, it really made me realize the power. Cursing was easy, but gossiping that’s another thing. ” Hey, I saw so and so with so and so, are they dating? I thought she was married?” Sound familiar? ( But, isn’t that just curiosity?) Is it? Or will that lead to the person you asked, to ask some one else, or mention it to someone else, then who know where it goes and what it is turned into. Believe me, this is not an easy one. But, awareness is the firs step.

What I mean by spiritual manifestation is. The “thought” is a spiritual manifestation. We speak things into existence. Did that conversation speak doubt about the woman’s faithfulness, did it cause doubt in her morality. All Satan needs to stir something up is a “WORD”.

John 1:1 1In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2He was in the beginning with God.… ( The “word” was Jesus) See the correlation?

With these examples and there are more, my life is conforming slowly to the like’s of holiness. We as Christians or followers of Christ, will receive “Full” sanctification or “Future” sanctification at death when we are glorified and then made perfect (Romans 8:29-30)

I felt as all this came into sharp focus for me, that I would like to share what I had learned. I am also presently working on Self control when it comes to food, which I now see is another form of sanctification.

The Definition of Sanctification

It simply means to sanctify: that is, to make holy or to set apart. When God sanctifies us, He makes us holy and sets us apart.

The word holy means to be different – to be set apart – from those around you. God wants to save us from the stain of sin; this is known as justification. When God justifies people, He puts a “righteous” stamp on them; He takes away their “sinful” label and replaces it with a “righteous” one. He cleanses them of their sin and puts a new label on them. To justify is to change something’s label from “wrong” to “right.” This is a one-time event; once God justifies a person, the “sinful” label is thrown away forever.

God also wants to save us from the power of sin; this is sanctification. Sanctification is not a one-time event. It is something that takes place over the rest of a Christian’s life. Even though God cleanses us of our sin and takes away our “wrong” label, this does not mean that we are perfect. Sin is still present, and we still sometimes listen to it and make wrong choices. God wants us to stop listening to sin and doing what it wants us to do. God wants us to do what He tells us to do through the Bible and through His Spirit. He wants to save us from the power of sin, so that sin no longer has control over us. Sanctification is the power to say “yes” to God and “no” to sin.

http://whatsinthebible.com/what-is-sanctification-for-christians/ ( Reference)

I hope this blesses some one today!

5 thoughts on “Sanctification

  1. Same struggles….same sins. We have to break the habit circle. Once we weed out the things (mainstream music and tv, certain people, places) that lead us to sin it gets easier but still a struggle. We have to constantly be ready and be aware.

  2. Pingback: The mouth | daily meditation

  3. I enjoyed reading this – had no idea you had a blog – will definitely check back more often. I find that I changed a lot of my opinions on things as soon as I had my daughter – the evils of the world become crystal clear when you suddenly need to protect a child from them. I pray that i’m putting her on the right path, and that she will make decisions with a clear mind and the right morals as she grows, and I pray for the same set of skills for myself. Thanks for sharing your perspective. Have a blessed day!

    • Jen thank you so much for your comment. It always feels great that some one is reading and sharing alike experiences! You are so right having children does totally change your perspective, and you absolutely do see things crystal clear!! Yes, please come back. I hope you are blessed as well!!

Leave a Reply

