Sin that besets men, besets all men

Let it GO

-The sin that besets men, besets all men.-

Romans 7:15-25 “I don’t understand myself at all. For I really want to do what is right but I can’t. And I tend to do what I don’t want to do, the things I hate. I know perfectly well that what I’m doing is wrong and my bad conscience proves that. I agree with these laws that I’m breaking. But I can’t help myself. It’s as if I’m no longer doing it. It’s sin inside of me that is stronger than me, that makes me do these evil things. I know I’m rotten through and through as far as my old sinful nature is concerned. No matter which way I turn, I can’t make myself do right. I want to, but I can’t. When I want to do good, I don’t. And when I try not to do wrong, I do it anyway. Now if I’m doing what I don’t want to, it’s plain where the trouble is, it’s sin that still has me in it’s evil grasp. It seems to be a fact of life that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. I love to do God’s will as far as my new nature is concerned, but there’s something else within me in my lower nature that is at war with my mind and wins the fight and makes me a slave to the sin that is still inside me. In my mind I want to be God’s willing servant, but instead, I find myself enslaved to sin. So you see how it is, my new life tells me to do right but the old nature that is still inside of me loves to sin. Oh what a terrible predicament I am in. Who will free me from my slavery to the deadly lower nature?

Temptation

~ If we can cling to the word of God, if we can cling to the Holy Spirit, if we can humble ourselves and cry out to this sovereign Lord who is awaiting our call to help us, we can stay in the graces of God, and with his holy armor make it through this life. We can never think for a minute that we can allow ourselves to dabble in what is evil and come out unscathed.

I believe we all have to come to grips with the fact that all of us are susceptible to the worst of sin whether directly, or by silent omission. Let’s not fool ourselves, we are making decisions EVERYDAY, that can lead us down a right or wrong road. Look back at your life and see the little decisions that seemed so insignificant that lead to something life changing. Maybe it was some one else’s decision that the consequence directly affected you ( Let that be the driving force, to never make that decision that would affect some one else , learn from it). We can not take lightly how evil abounds and is roaring like a lion, a devourer waiting to pounce on one of our decisions ( 1 Peter 58 Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour ) We have to be BOLD, STRONG IN THE LORD. Unafraid to stand up for what is right, therefor to rescue others out of the snares, and pits of Hell.

If there is something in your life that is tempting you to return to sin, GET RID OF IT! I know easier said than done. Pray about it, work towards it.
Mark 9:47 And if your eye causes you to stumble, pluck it out. It is better for you to enter the kingdom of God with one eye than to have two eyes and be thrown into hell.

My Heart aches, literally aches.

Lord, let my life reflect you, let my words, my actions, my passion all BE FOR YOU!

4 thoughts on “Sin that besets men, besets all men

  1. Old habits die hard. I try to do what I know is right and but fall back into the old patterns. I don’t mean some really bad sin but rather a tendency to get my priorities out of sync. My goal is to love the LORD will all my soul, all my heart, all my might. The problem is allowing too many distractions into my life. Thank your for your posts. They are inspiring.

    • Sheryl, I am right there with you. It is hard. And Satan will use those little distractions. He is so cunning. But, as long as we recognize it, and go back to the source of all things, our savior, we are winning!! Keep fighting! Bless you x10

Leave a Reply

