Discouraged

Discouraged

I don’t know exactly how it happened. I really don’t. Some how it got a hold of me and won’t let go. I am in the pit.

Satan is a LIAR! devil2

He is tormenting me, and telling me I am a failure.

He is confusing me.

He is trying to drown me.

I will get out! You can’t have me! My flesh is weak, But, my God is SO strong. He loves me and won’t forsake me. I will deny your words Satan, and cling to what I know is true.

I know I fail, yes, I know I could have done things better. But, God is going to use my failures for His victory, and there is no stopping God’s will.

I trust God, even when my flesh is not feeling it. I am not feeling it right now. I want to crawl in a hole, I want to beat myself up, I want to submit to what a failure I am. But, I know that is not what God says about me. I know that He will rescue me.

I will stand on His truth. I will believe that His grace is sufficient.

I will seek His face, and ask Him to lead me. I will stop trying to figure it all out on my own, I will stop worrying. I will do what I have to do to make things right.

The fight won’t be easy, it isn’t easy. I’m weak.

My prayer warriors are standing in the gap. They are claiming my victory, God’s victory.helping-up

Take my pride Lord, please take it. Somehow this pride has hidden itself. I believed it was gone, but it remains, and I don’t want it.

Take the guilt Lord, take it from me, I know it’s not from you.

Take the fear, the fear of not being enough or doing enough. YOU were enough so I wouldn’t have to be. Enough

Please Lord let me humbly accept your gifts.

19 thoughts on “Discouraged

  1. This is not you, You are a wonderful person that has help many of us see the Lord. You have encouraged us to fight on, you have shown us where we are going and with your strength and guidance we will all see the Victory in the end.

  2. Jesus is your rock! Lean on him, rely on him, count on him and don’t ever doubt him. Satan whispers pure lies in your ear. Satan tries to hold you down. Jesus is reaching for you, showering you with his love. Break the chains! Rise up! OVERCOME! Put on the armor of God and fight! ❤

  3. Dear Marty, beloved of God, whenever a believer is called by God to a public ministry, the struggle for humility begins. Satan will take the praises we receive and use them to defeat us. The questions begin…Am I giving God the credit? Am I doing this for Him or for me? What do I do with the praise I receive? How can I serve Him as He has called me to do, and deflect the pride in doing something that brings me honor when my heart’s desire is that all the honor go to Him?
    Corrie ten Boom said she takes the flowers she receives (praise) and gives the bouquet to Jesus. What else can we do?
    I have begun to sometimes ask those who compliment me to pray for the ministry. It reminds me and them that it is for the Lord, and the strength, wisdom and ability to do it comes from Him and the praise goes back to Him.
    We can’t continually rebuff people for saying good things about us. We have to learn to silently give Him the flowers as they are offered to us.
    (I realize I’m addressing the pride issue when the failure issue was first in your post)
    As for you failing, trust God’s leading and His heart above all. He has given you precious assignments for Him. You have accepted them and follow according to your understanding. He won’t ask you to do more than He gives you the strength and wisdom to do.
    As you stated, Satan is a LIAR. You must not believe his lies. God doesn’t expect us to be perfect! He expects us to be willing and to stay close to Him so He can guide us.
    A factor you may not be facing is that you may be taking on too much. As I have gotten assignments from the Lord, there is usually a ministry I’m already involved in that has to go to make room for the new one. It’s a matter of prayer to discern the right way to go. God speaks of saying a word in our ear, telling us to go to the left or to the right. We cannot expect to have peace if we take on so much that our families are actually neglected. I believe the family is the first ministry we have as women, wives and mothers. And what a grand ministry they are!
    Marty, I love you as a sister and a friend. I don’t pretend to know the answers, but I pray these thoughts may help at least a little.
    I see your heart for God, and that is what He wants. You make mistakes, I make mistakes, but He knows our hearts long to be His maidservants and He loves us with all the love in His great heart. Search the Scriptures, they have the words of eternal LIFE for us.
    Love and prayers,
    Connie

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to give me these words and encouragement. I like the idea of asking for prayers for the ministry when people compliment. I do often struggle with how to handle those compliments. I would be nothing without Christ. I think people see hope in me because they see Christ. But, I can do NOTHING alone. I make lots of mistakes, I fail, I cry, I’m weak. Maybe I should show that more often.

    • I don’t know who Connie is but she’s got some great words of wisdom to share. – I too needed to hear, see read these words. “I believe the family is the first ministry we have as women, wives and mothers. And what a grand ministry they are!” What a great reminder of the blessings and responsibilities God has asked us to care for. Brings to mind the verses in 1 Timothy that talk about caring for our family. ~ Thank you Connie ~

  4. Praying for you ❤ As I read through this I remembered a poem a dear friend shared with me a long time ago. I carry it in my Bible as a reminder NEVER to allow satan to sell me his tools. I pray you are reminded how deceptive satan really is and are lifted up by your FATHER GOD. HE loves you and yes HIS grace is sufficient. (Remind me to tell you a story about that verse sometime) 🙂

    Satan’s Garage Sale
    Once upon a time, Satan was having a garage sale. There, standing in little groups were all of his bright, shiny trinkets. Here were tools that make it easy to tear others down for use as stepping stones. And over there were some lenses for magnifying ones own importance, which, if you looked through them the other way, you could also use to belittle others, or even one’s self. Against the wall was the usual assortment of gardening implements guaranteed to help your pride grow by leaps and bounds: the rake of scorn, the shovel of jealousy for digging a pit for your neighbor, the tools of gossip and backbiting, of selfishness and apathy. All of these were pleasing to the eye and came complete with fabulous promises and guarantees of prosperity. Prices, of course, were steep; but not to worry! Free credit was extended to one and all. “Take it home, use it, and you won’t have to pay until later!” old Satan cried, as he hawked his wares.
    The visitor, as he browsed, noticed two well worn, non-descript tools standing in one corner. Not being nearly as tempting as the other items, he found it curious that these two tools had price tags higher than any other. When he asked why, Satan just laughed and said, “Well, that’s because I use them so much. If they weren’t so plain looking, people might see them for what they were.” Satan pointed to the two tools, saying, “You see, that one’s Doubt and that one’s Discouragement — and those will work when nothing else will.”

  5. 2 Corinthians 12:7-13
    The Message (MSG)
    7-10 Because of the extravagance of those revelations, and so I wouldn’t get a big head, I was given the gift of a handicap to keep me in constant touch with my limitations. Satan’s angel did his best to get me down; what he in fact did was push me to my knees. No danger then of walking around high and mighty! At first I didn’t think of it as a gift, and begged God to remove it. Three times I did that, and then he told me,

    My grace is enough; it’s all you need.
    My strength comes into its own in your weakness.
    Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen. I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size—abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.

  6. God does not remember our failures and sins. Confessed sin disappears “as far as the east is from the west”.
    Satan is more than a liar, but a deceiver. Lies can be noticed sometimes, it’s the deception, the lies that sound true. How can you be reminded of failures that no longer are on record? That’s a deception. That has become almost a mantra for me, Don’t get down on things God doesn’t remember!
    When you are in the pit there’s only room for two – you and God. And above is a crowd of witnesses ready to pull you out. In “Pilgrim’s Progress” the Slough of Despond almost got Pilgrim, but it didn’t!
    In the pit, Peace anyway!

  7. Marty, you’re a sweetheart. God bless you for being so open and honest. You’re in good company: Peter, Paul, Matthew and every follower of Christ that has ever lived. Satan has been defeated. “Greater is He that is in me than he that is in the world.” Our God reigns! Praise the LORD!

  8. I hear ya. I’ve just recently been in that pit too, as I’m sure we all do in a cyclic type of mode year-round. We’ll win discouragement by using words of life from the living Word, that’s so powerful to obliterate the lies that can seem to overwhelm us. Praise God for His Word and His Spirit who sustains us. Great post!

    • Thank you for your kind words!! Yes, I believe we all fall prey from time to time. I hate it there, yet that is where God comes and rescues me, and reminds me it is His strength, not mine. Bless you ❤

Leave a Reply

