My friend

My friend

Let me tell you about a very close friend of mine.

He is always there when I need him. He is never too busy to talk to me, even if I am having a pity party for myself.

He is strong, and very handy. He never puts on airs. He is what he is. I admire that about him. He can fit in anywhere, because he is so kind, and attentive to whoever he is with, they quickly look past his less than perfect attire, and can only seem to concentrate on how he makes them feel.

He doesn’t have a fancy career, but he seems to know things, deeper things. He has wisdom, and it so intriguing to listen to him talk. He is so simple yet knows so much about the bigger picture.

He never takes offense to people’s misconception of him. By the world’s standards he seems maybe lower middle class, he is usually in work clothes.

He is so kind, and giving , I thought for sure he was a church goer. I couldn’t wait to ask him what church he attended, they must be doing something right. I am always interested in denominations, and theological points of view.

He informed me that he doesn’t have a particular church. I asked what he meant by that. He said that churches are nice when he is in one that glorifies God, and not the glorifying of the hierarchy of that particular church. You know rules and regulations, traditions. He likes where there is freedom to worship and to express a sincere heart. He said when we are just going through the motions, it replaces the true service of God, and stops any growth.

I was just amazed with this conversation, he was right on, I feel the same way. He went on to say that religion was never meant to do the damage it has done to so many, and that the only true worship that matters is the worship that is free, not induced by the threat of sin or penalty.

He made it seem so easy, I said I wish everyone could see it in this simple way. I bet we would all be a lot happier. He agreed.

He always makes me so happy, just being in his presence. I am in awe of his knowledge, his simplicity and sweet and kind disposition. Almost like a mother, father, teacher, friend, all rolled into one.

I am always telling him how amazing I think he is. He is so humble though, he always makes off like it’s no big deal.

I mean with his job; he is a very busy man. But, he never makes me feel as if I am bugging him.

He is in the area, he is a wonderful friend to have. Maybe you have met him? Maybe, you already encountered him and just didn’t know it.

If so, I hope the next time you encounter him, your reminded of all I have said about him, and are able to pick him out.

He’s the best, once you meet him, I know you will love him too!

John 15:15

The Message (MSG)

11-15 “I’ve told you these things for a purpose: that my joy might be your joy, and your joy wholly mature. This is my command: Love one another the way I loved you. This is the very best way to love. Put your life on the line for your friends. You are my friends when you do the things I command you. I’m no longer calling you servants because servants don’t understand what their master is thinking and planning. No, I’ve named you friends because I’ve let you in on everything I’ve heard from the Father.

2 thoughts on “My friend

Leave a Reply

