Inconvenient

Inconvenient

Time is growing short at our little gift shop, we are down to a week until closing. The last couple of months have been stressful.

A couple of weeks ago I had put in a long day, closing time was upon me and I couldn’t wait just to get home. Just as I was getting ready to lock up my husband called and asked me if I would stop off at the local convenient store and pick up some ice tea for the house. I agreed begrudgingly.

I stopped to pick it up, hoping not to see anyone and just get home. I parked and ran in. I grabbed the ice tea and headed to the counter looking down all the while trying not to make eye contact with anyone. (Yup it was that kind of day)

As I stood at the counter to pay, a woman walked in. She stood next to me with a lottery ticket in her hand, ready to redeem. The woman smelled like a cigarette, was extremely thin, and looked generally disheveled. The clerk asked what she could do for her. The woman handed over the lottery ticket a 2$ winner, with one hand and held her stomach with the other. The woman asked if the clerk had a tums she could take.

I looked over and could see from her side profile as we stood side by side that even though she was very skinny her stomach was very distended. The clerk replied no. I could almost read the clerk’s mind. Here is this woman, smelling like a cigarette , cashing in a lottery ticket and asking for a tums?! The nerve!

I could agree to a point, although I still felt for her. Her misery was obvious. I wished I had a tums in my purse, but I didn’t. I thought to myself , this one isn’t for you, just keep moving.

Then the gentle nudge came. But, you could pray for her; pray with her. Oh but how I was not in the mood. This was just a inconvenient time for me. I kept saying to myself, just get to the car.

I did just that. Walked out comforting myself with the thought, that I don’t have to help everyone.

As I was backing out, the woman walked across the parking lot holding her stomach. I couldn’t take it. I rolled down my window and called out to her, asking her to come to my window. She came; I said to her I know you don’t feel good and I wished I had something for you to take, but I don’t. But, I can pray for you. She immediately welled up with tears, yes, I could really use it.

There in the parking lot of the convenient store, at the most inconvenient time, I prayed with her. She held my hands with a death grip as I prayed, as if this was her only hope at relief.

When I finished, she thanked me over and over again and revealed to me she had brain cancer and was having surgery the following week.

I was so overwhelmed with emotion. I felt so selfish, that I almost missed this opportunity to be God’s hands and feet. A deep sense of how God knows and sees all, when we don’t came over me.

As I drove away, I cried and thanked God for this chance to do His work, and also thanked Him for all of the blessings I have.

13 When Jesus heard it, He departed from there by boat to a deserted place by Himself. But when the multitudes heard it, they followed Him on foot from the cities. 14 And when Jesus went out He saw a great multitude; and He was moved with compassion for them, and healed their sick. (Matthew 14:1-14, New King James Version)

(Psalms 147:3 NKJV) He heals the brokenhearted And binds up their wounds.

(Matthew 10:8 NKJV) “Heal the sick, cleanse the lepers, raise the dead, cast out demons. Freely you have received, freely give.

(Acts 3:12 NKJV) So when Peter saw it, he responded to the people: “Men of Israel, why do you marvel at this? Or why look so intently at us, as though by our own power or godliness we had made this man walk?

(James 5:14-16 NKJV) Is anyone among you sick? Let him call for the elders of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord. {15} And the prayer of faith will save the sick, and the Lord will raise him up. And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven. {16} Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.

2 thoughts on “Inconvenient

Leave a Reply

