Prayer Fail?

Power

It is time that I write a praise report.

 

I wrote  to you and told about the new chapter in our lives. I also talked about my daughter Gabby’s diagnosis of Perthes disease and the dreaded waiting game.

We were back for an appointment after waiting 2 months, and also after reading up thoroughly on the disease itself and what we would be up against. Unfortunately, Gabby had all the risk factors that make her diagnosis worse case scenario. ( Risk factors- 1-Age(best if diagnosed by 6, she’s 8) Weight- (Gabby is short and stocky) Early detection ( 1 year of symptoms before diagnosis for Gab)

These were all scary facts. Even though I was praying and praying for healing and restoration I still had my doubts, like any parent would.

 

The appointment went well at first. The Dr. said according to the new set of x-rays what was left of the femoral head hadn’t deteriorated any further. I was thanking Jesus, thinking it was a good thing. But, the Dr. went on to say that this was A typical for Perthes disease, and that he was now unsure of his origin al diagnosis. He even went as far to say it could be  tumor and that he would like to see her back in 3 month for  a biopsy and contrast MRI. I was stunned to say the least. It actually took me hours to comprehend what he had said.

 

After discussing it with my husband, and conferring with the online support group, we decided to get a second opinion. I called a noted facility in a neighboring town and was able to get a appointment fairly quickly.

 

We went with disc’s of the x-rays in hand and waited with anxiety to see what this Dr. would say about what he saw on the x-rays.

 

He came in and quite confidently said, he did not think it was a tumor, and even better, he did not think she needed surgery either. He said she was in the regrowth process and as long as she did not do

any weight bearing activities ( soccer, basketball) that we just have to allow the body to do it’s thing.

We couldn’t have been happier, and more importantly relieved.

excited

The next answered prayer is something I wrote about last year. https://msinop1.wordpress.com/2013/10/08/a-call-to-prayer/

Months went by and I continued to pray fervently everyday for the owner of the tracker with the bumper sticker that so saddened my heart ” Nothing fails like prayer”. Then the roadwork came into play. The tracker was forced to park in another spot due to the roadwork, and so out of the eye shot of every passerby. I was happy about that, but still broke my heart that someone was so broken and angry to believe that statement.

The roadwork went on for a few months. Out of sight out of mind. Then Bam, I am driving along this street where now the mid 90’s tracker is BACK.

tracker

But, with something noticeably missing. The Bumper Sticker. It’s GONE, the remnants are left of the glue that held it fast to the soft top. The glue is black from the dirt that collected under it. I screamed! Woohoo! My girls looked at me as if I was crazy. My mind was fluttering with ideas. My prayer had been answered. But, why? Lord, did you change the person’s heart, like I had prayed for? Are they just going to sell it, and needed to remove the stickers? But, it’s such an old model, would they really be selling it? I may never know what the answer is. I pray that my prayers prompted God to reveal himself to this person and their life has been changed forever. Maybe that moment I enter the pearly gates, I will be greeted by someone I have never actually met in this life.

All I can say is ” Nothing prevails like prayer”

Matthew 7:7 “Ask, and it will be given to you seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.

Matthew 21:22 And whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith.”

Mark 11:24 Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.

John 14:13-14 Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it

Read more: http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/10-awesome-bible-verses-about-the-power-of-prayer/#ixzz37AQNqRHH

5 thoughts on “Prayer Fail?

  1. Prayer is the backbone of my walk with the Lord. I believe in it. I write about it. I live it. Yet, the first person I prayed to be healed died and she was a favorite aunt of mine. At that moment, I had to make up my mind to believe in the living Word or to believe in my experience. Maybe that’s what happened to the person who had the bumper sticker on her Tracker, but she chose her experience instead of the living Word.

  2. Amen, Larry….I am too trying to push the boundaries of my faith and stand firm on the word. It’s hard some days, but I will choose that over my limited experience any day. Bless you friend!!!

  3. God does not need our prayers! Praying helps transform us into the will of Jesus. So results would be nice, but our prayers are to bring our will under God’s, to delight in God at work in the area of our prayers and to serve God even if there seems to be no activity in our request field, or even a clear no. And so if you have grown then the prayer succeeded at the first level. If someone received a blessing thank God, indeed, but thank God anyway.
    Thanks for telling your stories. Somehow Christians have trouble talking about talking with God. Seeing God at work always inspires.
    Peace

  4. Pingback: Learning How to Pray Effectively in 30 Seconds or Less (Part 6) | Larry Who

Leave a Reply

