Sugar High

pleasing god

A few months ago I was out with friends to dinner. We ate and talked and had a nice time. It was a typical mommy night out, finishing up with a trip to Wal-Mart. As we were meandering around Wal-Mart with no children to distract us, I word popped into my head. You know that God nudging thing. lol. The word was ketoacidosis. I knew I had heard the word before, but couldn’t recall what it meant. I tried to blow it off, but it kept coming back to me over and over again. We headed back to the car and I said to my friend can you look that up. She did and proceeded to read me the definition.

Diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) is a life-threatening condition that develops when cells in the body are unable to get the sugar (glucose) they need for energy because there is not enough insulin.

When the sugar cannot get into the cells, it stays in the blood. The kidneys filter some of the sugar from the blood and remove it from the body through urine.   http://www.webmd.com/diabetes/tc/diabetic-ketoacidosis-dka-topic-overview

I couldn’t figure out for the life of me what this could mean. I came home and wrote it in my journal.

I kind of forgot about it. But, this morning it dawned on me that within the past few weeks 3 people that I know died of Diabetes related complications. They had all been sick and all suffered so much.

I thought to myself well there is no such thing as coincidence. So I started to speak to God. I asked Him what does this mean? I don’t understand? I then made a phone call to a friend that was with me that day out to dinner and shopping. I related to her that I had put these two instances together, and did she have any insight to what it could mean. She felt it was a warning to me. We got off the phone and I again went to prayer.I have written before about the weakness everyone in my family has with food. I started to ask God is this about me? I had a full fledged conversation with Him.

I felt this was directly related to how much sugar I eat. That I am showing my girls how to live rightly through my actions in all other aspects, except when it comes to eating habits.

I immediately said to Him; Are you telling me I have to give up sugar? I don’t think I can do that. He reminded me of other great hurdles that I had said the same thing about, and showed me I how I had overcome them. I immediately went to the kitchen and made 2 frozen waffles covered in bananas and syrup. It was an act of defiance, I knew it but couldn’t stop myself. Or I didn’t want to stop myself.

He again convicted me and said this is not something you can avoid, I am asking you to do this for me. He then reminded me of something I had just written on Facebook the day before.

Are you interruptable? God often gives us unexpected blessings, on roads we never planned on traveling. ‪#‎trustgod‬ ‪#‎rejoicealways‬ ‪#‎Iaminterruptableareyou

 I thought I absolutely never planned on traveling a road of strict eating habits. Then I followed it up with but I love food sooo much . How could you take it away? My pure enjoyment? Then I relented, you will bless me on this road I didn’t plan on traveling. The ripple effect of my obedience will bless others? Hmmm that would be good I guess………..

In the midst of all this I knew I had to tell some one who could hold me accountable, but I so  did not want to tell anyone, then they will hold me accountable.

My friend called and I knew I had to tell her. She reminded me of how God asked Abraham to sacrifice his sons life on the altar in obedience. What a tough sacrifice that was, but God knew that Abraham would do it, even though he didn’t want to and great things developed from the obedience, the great inheritance.

I don’t want to do this, but my desire to please God is greater than my fleshly desires.

6 thoughts on “Sugar High

  1. I am impressed, and stirred, by what you write. First, that you engaged with God. Secondly, that you had someone who could help sort it out, and act on it. And that your love for God chooses to be bigger than a desire of the flesh. While your issue is specific, the pattern you have written down applies to anyone about anything. I wonder…
    Peace

    • Nopew, I have to tell you, I value highly our blogosphere friendship. You always write me with thought provoking, and inspiring responses. Yes, I know that is what we are called to do, but I appreciate it more than you know.

      I agree, it is a pattern and I never really thought of it that way. I am glad you are stirred and pray that God uses that stirring in your life for His glory! Your friend, Marty

  2. Although I love your blogs, I admit tha I have missed out on so many because I simply have not been checking my email. I do not find it a coincidence that read this one today….it spoke VOLUMES, My Dear. You are doing a wonderful job!

    • Thank you Mary for messaging me. I do believe that God is calling us all out (Western Society) from our love affair with food. It is everywhere and the center of all of our happiness, sadness, and everything in between. I don’t know how we can overcome this but through God’s grace. Love you, Marty

  3. Hi Marty, I am always impressed on how you just know it’s Him reaching out to you. I am trying to open myself up to that more and feel like I have been lately. Did you know I went sugar free two years ago? I did the Five Hour Body where I let myself have sugar once a week on one day and lost 26 inches and almoust 30 lbs. The first few weeks when you sugar detox is the hardest. Plus I love a good beer so giving that up was hard, too 😉 I went black coffee straight away and now allow myself some creamer. You can do it! Once you take out sugar, it’s amazing how you view food. I love eggs and beans so I eat those every day. A cheeseburger is a luxury for me, as it should be. God gave us food to fuel our body. Period. Not to over gluttenize ourselves (not sure if that is a word or not). I never felt better then when I was dedicated to that and I have been lax since the summer and am feeling motivated again! If you need help lean on me.

    • Ellen, I am so happy you shared that you went sugar free, I didn’t know. Yes let’s share ideas! Love you and am so glad you are opening up to His promptings!!!!!

Leave a comment